Dewey’s Read-a-thon … hour twenty-four!

End of Event Meme:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
I don’t think it was the length of time as much as I hadn’t done a great job of picking books to read -and I’ve been reading lots and lots of big books for a committee recently- so I just felt done reading earlier than I wanted. I’m still going to be reading big committee books in October… I’ll be taking suggestions and looking for the right books much much earlier!

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
I love the Gone series by Micheal Grant, anything by Rosemary Clement-Moore, Deanna Raybourn, Lauren Willig, or Gregor the Overlander series by Suzanne Collins

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
I said it before -I’ll say it again! I am so impressed by how smoothly and well organized the whole event is for readers! I can’t begin to imagine how much work this is for those in charge!

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
It all looked great from this side -seamless!

5. How many books did you read?
I read 3 picture books, 2 graphic novels, 2 books, and 1 book of cartoons (sort of cartoons -I just don’t know what to call it really.)

6. What were the names of the books you read?
Redwoods by Jason Chin, The Numberlys by William Joyce and Christina Ellis, The Sandman by William Joyce, The Reason for Dragons by Chris Northrop and Jeff Stokely, Space Mountain by Disney Comics, A Brief History of Montmaray by Michelle Cooper, Legend by Marie Lu, and Cattitudes by Victoria Roberts.

7. Which book did you enjoy most?
I really did like them all. No favorites -no kidding!

8. Which did you enjoy least?
see # 7 please

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
It definitely cuts down reading time -so know what you want out of the experience before you sign up. With that being said -I loved seeing all the different ways people approach the event and how the share what they’ve done/want to do. Such great ideas!

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
I love it and will definitely do it again! Each time I feel like I’ve learned something really helpful to make the next read-a-thon that much more exciting and rewarding… thank you for making it all possible!

Leave a Reply

